ONLY $375 FOR MOST ST LOUIS MINOR IN POSSESSION CHARGES
Yes, it is. The charge of St Louis minor in possession is described by the state of Missouri as a misdemeanor. If you were to simply plead guilty to the charge, then the misdemeanor would become a part of your record. This will make things very difficult when you try to get a job (or rent an apartment, or secure a student loan).
St Louis misdemeanors are not anything to laugh at. Depending on how many minor in possession charges you’ve had in the past, the court can potentially sentence you to up to one (1) year of jail time and a $1,000 fine.
Furthermore, if you were to plead guilty to the minor in possession charge, the state will automatically suspend your driving privileges for thirty (30) days (and sixty days for a second offense, and a full year for any subsequent offense of MIP).
PLEADING GUILTY IS NOT YOUR BEST OPTION!!
And not only that, but the laws of Missouri regarding this area were recently expanded to make it easier for a police officer to write you up with such a ticket. Now instead of simply “minor in possession of alcohol,” it includes “minor in possession by consumption”. In essence, this means that a cop can issue a citation if he/she sees you in an intoxicated state. So it is no longer necessary to find you “in possession” of alcohol. So long as the officer finds you inebriated, that is good enough for the statute.
So as you can see, getting caught as a minor with alcohol is a big deal (and it needs to be handled properly). But this is exactly why it is so important speak with an experienced St Louis criminal defense lawyer about it. We can explain your rights, review your options, and answer all of your questions!!
The affordable St. Louis criminal defense attorneys at The Law Office of Jennifer Alter-Rieken have been taking care of criminal charges in Missouri for over ten (10) years. We specialize in making sure that your record stays clean, and so that you can move forward with life. And we want to do it all at an affordable price. The upfront fees for a misdemeanor charge start at $375. But the initial consultation to discuss your legal issues is free of charge. So contact us today to learn more!!
We have two main locations: in the Central West End of St. Louis, at 1 North Taylor (on the corner of Taylor and Laclede), 63108; and in the Twin Cities of Festus / Crystal City, at 1000 Truman Blvd (Highway 61/67), 63019.